Growing Together: Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Starting an Environmental Project with the Unhoused

Posted 08-28-2021 05:57:00 PM
    Edited by Wesley Chen 08-28-2021 05:57:55 PM
    Hello everyone! I am a high school student from Fremont, CA and part of a student-led environmental nonprofit. We are planning to start an environmental project with our local unhoused population in which we offer them to join our environmental projects as volunteers. We will be giving them a stipend for their volunteer hours which will most likely be a weekly event that lasts for 3 or so hours. 

The unhoused volunteers will basically be introduced to environmental conservation and they will work with us on our community projects, such as building Monarch Waystation Gardens, making/distributing Seedballs, and our urban forestry projects.

We will be collaborating with another student-led organization in San Jose that has experience with this type of project and has already provided stipends for over 400 hours of unhoused volunteers. The aim is to bring this project to Fremont, as we have the third highest unhoused population in Alameda County, and the COVID pandemic has only made the crisis worse due to  unemployment issues and medical expenses. 

Our main issue is naturally raising money for the stipends that we offer our unhoused volunteers but we will be starting a GoFundMe so hopefully that goes well. 

Specific Questions:
    • Any opinions on us offering a stipend of $15 an hour for the unhoused volunteers?
      • $15 is above CA minimum wage, but this is meant to be a weekly community event and not a job.
      • The purpose of the stipend is to aid the unhoused volunteers in whatever way we can and encourage them to take part in environmental volunteer work.
    • Any opinions on expanding this project to orphanages or Afghan refugees?
    • Any tips on crowdfunding and raising money for the stipends?