Growing Together: Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Starting a garden club at a homeschool Co-op

Posted 09-24-2022 06:52:00 PM
    Hi all!

I am a new member, and am in the process of trying to start an elementary school level garden club at our homeschool co-op. The next next semester is a spring semester (January-May)

I am a hobby farmer (plants and animals) and have been teaching animal science at our co-op for some years now. I am looking to expand into botany. 

I don't know what to do or how to start. We meet for 14 weeks, but are renting our location, so doing any form of traditional garden at our location would not be permitted. The group would not be able to meet up outside of our Co-op for an offsite garden...

With these limitations in mind, I would really like to teach them some gardening techniques and plant science, but am lost for ideas. 

Things like flowers, succulents, house plants, garden vegetables and fruits have all run through my fingers, but I am still an amateur. 

Any resources, ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

------------------------------
    Amber Chapman

• 2.  RE: Starting a garden club at a homeschool Co-op

Posted 09-25-2022 11:13:00 AM
    Starting seeds inside would work January-May.  Maybe the seedlings started  could then go home with the students after they out grow the space?

david henry
    Childhelp
    VA

• 3.  RE: Starting a garden club at a homeschool Co-op

Posted 09-26-2022 09:03:00 AM
    Hi Amber, 

With a small container or tower garden you could teach about herbs -- from seasonings to medicinal to personal hygiene. Or, you could grow lettuces, spinach, kale and teach about leafy greens -- cooking, dyeing, etc. 

Here's a KidsGardening lesson plan for containers with kids.  https://kidsgardening.org/resources/garden-activities-container-gardening-for-kids/
    --
    Michelle Zupan
    Curator 
    Hickory Hill & the Tom Watson Birthplace
    502 Hickory Hill Drive
    Thomson, GA  30824