Growing Together: Open Forum

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

Questions for Starting New School Garden and Seedballs

• 1.  Questions for Starting New School Garden and Seedballs

Posted 08-02-2021 01:26:00 AM
    Hello. I am a high school student from Fremont, CA and we are starting school gardens (Monarch Waystation) at our local elementary and high schools. We are planning to do both conventional planting methods and Seedballs.

I am just wondering if there is anybody that has experience with Seedballs and would be willing to share those experiences with me. Also, I am wondering if anybody has tips for starting a fundraiser for our projects.

Thanks.

------------------------------
    Wesley Chen

• 2.  RE: Questions for Starting New School Garden and Seedballs

Posted 08-02-2021 11:16:00 AM
    Hi Wesley,

We do seed bombs every year with our Eco Summer Campers.  They are super easy, super messy and actually do really well. 
    Are you familiar with the Guerilla Gardener? Seed bombs are how a great deal of vacant lots were claimed as both pollinator habitat and vegetable gardens in London and NYC. 

We use dry clay powder (available from your local pottery supply house), organic potting soil, water, and seeds (flower, veggie, or herb). The ratio we use is 5 parts clay to 2 parts soil, 1 part seed and 2 parts water.  That will make several seed bombs. We allow them to try on cardboard trays for 48 hours (but it's humid here, so it may dry more quickly where you are.).  

Campers have  reported back that they had flowers come up in their grandma's pasture, the dirt patch at school, and various other locations where they have been "deployed."

Best of luck. 

--
    Michelle Zupan
    Curator 
    Hickory Hill & the Tom Watson Birthplace
    502 Hickory Hill Drive
    Thomson, GA  30824
    706-595-7777
    FAX: 706-595-7177

Visit us at www.hickory-hill.org or on Facebook.
    Follow us on Twitter: HHEducation