Growing Together: Open Forum

View Only
  • 1.  Aphids on the Run

Posted 03-03-2022 11:55:00 AM
    Hello everyone!

I am a novice gardener, and I have jumped into the world of running and maintaining a community garden. There has been a lot of joys thus far, I am currently being faced with an issue that I need some experience with.

One of the schools that I serve is hosting a hydroponic system ( Lettuce Grow Farmstand Tower) and we have recently gotten a  pretty bad case of the Aphids! I've done a bunch of online research and found different spray solution mixes ( mostly with vinegar, and mild soap) and it has recently fried the plants.
    many of the leaves were damaged so I clipped them off
    An aphid on the grow tower, and the eggs on the cilantro plant
    I sprayed these strawberries yesterday and they have since wilted

What is your experience with aphids on either your hydroponics on in the garden and how did you manage it? I understand this is a growing process, but I feel a little lost right now, and I want to be able to give the kids a great learning and growing experience.

Any and all help is welcome!

Thanks

------------------------------
    Nande Gilbert
    Manager of School and Teen Programs
    Highland Youth Garden
    Columbus, Ohio
    nande@highlandyouthgarden.org
    614-515-3322
    https://www.highlandyouthgarden.org/

• 2.  RE: Aphids on the Run

Posted 03-04-2022 11:18:00 AM
    Hi Nande,
    Good for you for jumping in and be willing to learn as you grow!
    A word of caution with regard to looking to the internet for garden information, there is some great information and some not so great information out there (as you’ve discovered!)
    I’m glad you’ve discovered this forum, it’s a wonderful community.
    I encourage you to look into your local Master Gardeners Association as well, you should have one in your area. You can call for advice, upload pictures to their email and someone will be able to help you.